PDA

View Full Version : WEBF has been stitched up???

WE Branch Fanatic
13th Jun 2002, 23:04
A few weeks ago, just over two weeks ago, the 27th of May to be exact, I went a signed on the dotted line etc to join the Royal Navy. For those of you that haven't read many of my postings, I will make the following points about my background.

I have been interested in a career in the RN (as a Weapon Engineer Officer) since just before I was 14. After my GCSEs I did a BTEC National Diploma in Electrical and Electronic Engineering. Around this time I was advised that for Officer entry (into the Engineering branches) I would need to obtain a degree off my own back. This I did. In April 1999 I was advised by my then Liason Officer that I did not need to spend an extra few months to top it up to an Honours degree. In January 2000 my new Liason Officer told me that I DID need an Honours degree for commisioned entry into the WE Branch. So from September 2000 to January 2001 I did this, as this was what the Navy required.

In March 2001 I did the AIB, and failed miserably. I was advised to try joining as an Artificer. It was indicated that my qualifications would get me fast tracked through the training, and promoted extra fast. This would give me the leadership development etc I need. But when I turned up at the AFCO for the interview, I was told the doctor had examined my Optician's report and decided my eyesight was too bad for the RN. So I had to write and appeal. I then had to go to an eye consultant to get the all clear. Finally I was accepted and given an entry date: 27 May 2002.

The place where I was from February to May refused to let me have any time off until ONE WEEK from my entry date. So I had little time to prepare. My fitness programme suffered massively, and I had little time to practice and perfect the dull but important art of ironing and folding clothes.