PDA

View Full Version : B1.1 License help

sal1
15th Jul 2015, 20:50
Right from the get go I will apologise if this has been posted several times before! Also if anything I say is wrong feel free to keep it to yourselves...nah I'm kidding.

So here is my dilemma folks...
Basically I have a few questions regarding the acquirement of a EASA B1.1 engineers license...I graduated in 2013 and really want to be an aircraft engineer and still can't get my head round a few things...

So here goes...

I have studied Aerospace Technology with Management at University of Hertfordshire so would I need to complete the 5 year worth of experience still?

How would I go about gaining this 5 years of experience? What is the best way to get in? Where should I look and to whom do I apply to??

Do I complete the theory aspect first before venturing into the practical side of things?

If I fail my exams can I retake? If so…how many times?

With the theory side (which I still need to do) why is it some places charge £7000 to learn the theory where as other places could allow me just to purchase the reading material for the fraction of the price????

So when I am getting experience do I first get type rating on a particular aircraft or would that be after the 5 years worth of experience?

Could anyone give me further hints and tips for a enthusiastic engineer wannabe like myself?

Thanks in advance for any help with this matter

Sal1

BluFin
28th Jul 2015, 20:10
Get yourself over to
http://www.qcm.ch/uploads/media/QCM-Part-66-en-Rev03-150715.pdf
download and read Part 66 & appendix

it will answer most of your questions

You will need to get a relevant job in a Part 145, apply to everybody and be prepared to be turned away.

modules completed may help your application but don't bank on it

traditional way in is an apprenticeship, some offer improver routes but that's based on an existing skill base

kapton
30th Jul 2015, 21:00