PDA

View Full Version : Approach Procedure Question - FABL VOR 20

perfe2x
13th Jul 2015, 21:44
Greetings Friends.

I'm a USA trained pilot, and that is where all my experience is, but I love learning about how business is conducted elsewhere. I've enjoyed lurking on your forum. I hope you can help me with a question.

I've been considering the VOR 20 approach to FABL.

(Not sure how to attach the chart:
http://www.caa.co.za/Aeronautical%20Charts/Bram%20Fischer%20INTL%20-%20FABL%20%28Bloemfontein%29/FABL_VOR%20RWY%2020_VOR-02%20dd%2011%20DEC%202014.pdf
)

From the chart it appears to me that the descent to the minimum altitude begins when inbound via the 026 radial and 8.0 DME from the BLV VOR.

If I were to approach the VOR from the east, say on a heading of 280 degrees, I would normally conduct what I know as a parallel entry by flying outbound on the 026 radial to 8.0 DME, then conducting a right turn back to the radial inbound.

If I did this, the entry maneuver would conclude well past the 8.0 DME fix where I should have started descending.

So what is the right way to enter this procedure from the east?

Is this a case where I would request maneuvering room to the south to get aligned and use the procedure turn? Should I just expect to fly an entire circuit after the entry concludes and then start descending when inbound again?

Thanks for sharing your expertise!

Eric Janson
14th Jul 2015, 02:17
Just keep it simple.

If you are coming in from the East - just treat it as joining a hold at 8000'

Continue inbound to the VOR inbound on the 026 radial maintaining 8000'

Start the approach after passing the VOR for the second time. Just make sure ATC is aware of what you are doing.

George Tower
14th Jul 2015, 06:29
If I were to approach the VOR from the east, say on a heading of 280 degrees, I would normally conduct what I know as a parallel entry by flying outbound on the 026 radial to 8.0 DME, then conducting a right turn back to the radial inbound.