PDA

View Full Version : Routers and Broadband Speeds

The Flying Pram
4th Jun 2015, 18:47
First, a personal disclosure: I worked as a lineman for the GPO/PO Tel & BT between 1973 - 1996, so wasn't involved with broadband. However 1+1 carrier systems and ABC alarms used the extra bandwidth for similar purposes, so I'm familiar with how line faults & noise can affect performance.

Now to my plea for help: a friend is having trouble with poor download speeds - the same thing occurred a year ago, but that was a line insulation fault. This time round the line tests O.K. and there is no noise audible. He normally gets ~3.5meg download speed, and ~3-400k upload, but for the last week the D/L speed has varied from barely 100k up to 750k although the upload is seemingly unaffected. I spent an hour carrying out comparisons between his ASUS WL600G and a cheap and cheerful Belkin I keep for just such occasions. Both report almost identical downstream and upstream values on their respective status pages - 8meg / 450k. Yet the best actual throughput I got using the same server on Speedtest.net was 750k / 350k.

I repeated the comparison with my laptop rather than his desktop (both using a wired connection), and got exactly the same. I had already tried re-booting the ASUS, and disconnecting the extension wiring, with no change. The only thing I haven't tried is a separate microfilter - this is built into the front plate on the latest style linebox, and is (as far as I'm concerned) BT / Openreach's responsibility. However, as both routers appear to be communicating with the exchange at more than adequate speeds, I fail to see what difference this would make.