PDA

View Full Version : Theory exams within 6 weeks??

Qviator
20th Apr 2015, 14:37
Hi all,

I've been studying for my PPL theory exams here in the UK for a couple of months and plan to complete them by September which is when I'll go abroad(USA) to complete the flight training. However, I feel with full time work etc it will be difficult to do so in time. Now I'm thinking about doing what I can here and leaving the remaining exams for the school abroad. But I can't imagine that even say 4 exams can be completed within the space of 4-6 weeks. Am I missing something? Self study at the moment is giving me 2months per exam :ugh:

Any words of advice would be welcome. Or primarily anybody who has completed all or most of the written exams within short space of the course.

Thank you!

RichardH
20th Apr 2015, 16:51
Back in 1977 did all of mine in 2 days after a couple months of self-study. I know things have changed somewhat but 2 months for a PPL exam is dragging it out about a bit. A friend of mine recently did all his PPL exams in about 4 months.

BigGrecian
20th Apr 2015, 17:11
Pretty normal to see people take all 9 over 2-3 days at PPL level.

Content isn't overly complicated and material is not huge.

You should have around 40% by common sense around 10% with a basic interest in flying and the other 15-40% is from the studying IMHO.

If your going to the USA check the approval status of your ATO first - several have been misrepresenting themselves as EASA approved for their customers to turn up in the USA and be told their not approved.

Here is the approved ATO List :

https://easa.europa.eu/easa-and-you/aviation-domain/commercial-aviation/approved-training-organisations

Mach Jump
20th Apr 2015, 17:35
Pretty normal to see people take all 9 over 2-3 days at PPL level

Love to know where this is normal.

MJ:ok:

BigGrecian
20th Apr 2015, 17:46