PDA

View Full Version : Hard landing? Or Crash?

Pilot DAR
30th Mar 2015, 12:49
Air Canada recently had an unhappy event at Halifax, which resulted in a damaged airplane, and headlines. The headlines read "Hard Landing". In short order, photos appear, which show a very badly damaged airbus, not standing on its landing gear, and with an engine ripped off.

Since the initial event, the details fill in.... The aircraft contacted the ground some 1000+ feet short of the runway, and did a lot of infrastructure damage as it plowed its way to the runway. Since then, the headlines have been changed to report a "very hard landing".

As a local volunteer firefighter, I've been called to several "hard landings" at our local airport and aerodromes. In common, none of these were ever an aircraft still on the runway, and none were an aircraft which would ever fly again. In one case, when I arrived, and could not see the plane at all, I asked where it was... up side down between trees in a forest, a quarter mile off to the side of the runway! I instructed the airport management that in the future, they should categorize such an event as a "crash".

This recent event has got me to wondering, where is the line between "hard landing" and "crash"?

I think a "hard landing" would, at worst, result in an aircraft stopped on, or very close to the intended landing area, with at least some of the landing gear undamaged. A "hard landing" aircraft would be expected to be repairable. A crash would be anything worse.

Thoughts?

Shaggy Sheep Driver
30th Mar 2015, 13:13
Air France wrote off one of their Concordes in a 'heavy landing' at Dakar. No pax hurt, nothing fell off (AFAIK), but the airframe was bent. I'd class that as a very heavy landing.

Hitting the ground well short of the runway and hitting stuff on the way to the runway, seriously damaging the aeroplane, is undoubtedly a crash.