PDA

View Full Version : Living the dream

SpringHeeledJack
26th Feb 2015, 17:03
Not living the dream: the five most overrated jobs - Telegraph (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/men/thinking-man/11434946/Not-living-the-dream-the-five-most-overrated-jobs.html)

It is often true that things look more interesting from afar, though sometimes that can be reversed, but do we really know how certain jobs/industries are at the coal face….One of the commenters was a pilot bemoaning the fact that he was busy for the beginning and end of a flight, but then subjected to 10hrs of a potentially boring aloof cockpit partner ;)

SHJ

con-pilot
26th Feb 2015, 18:49
but then subjected to 10hrs of a potentially boring aloof cockpit partner

That's usually why I slept though that part of the flight.

Not all the time mind you, sometimes I'd read a book. :E

AtomKraft
26th Feb 2015, 19:17
If you want to be a happy pilot, don't be a pilot in the UK.

Simples.

I'm a pilot in India, and very happy. Won't be working in the UK again.

thing
26th Feb 2015, 22:37
Not by physically transferring the pilot on board, but rather by giving a ground-based guy control of take-off, and another one control of landing.

Call me old fashioned but I prefer my pilots to be taking the same risks as me.

mixture
26th Feb 2015, 22:44
Call me old fashioned but I prefer my pilots to be taking the same risks as me.

Yup. The day the pointy end gets turned into extra first class seats is the day I stop flying.

G-CPTN
26th Feb 2015, 22:51
I have flown in the pointy end of a B747 (in First Class).

I was disappointed that there was no forward view.

mixture
26th Feb 2015, 22:57
I have flown in the pointy end of a B747 (in First Class).

You old farts have too much money... :cool:

G-CPTN
26th Feb 2015, 23:08
I was 'Shanghaied' in Hong Kong, having gone there on business and to travel to Singapore to continue my business.