PDA

View Full Version : Journey Into Space

Xenophon
8th Feb 2015, 20:24
a.k.a. Idiot's Broth : Electric Soup . The one , the only Newcy Broon.

People say that it's not as good as in days of yore (have they stopped pumping the brew water out of the Tyne or adding a personage of a certain ethnicity to the brew ? ) and now , to appease the Septic market , it is to be adulterated even further by the brewers (not in Newcastle).
Many moons ago , I was a regular if moderate consumer. One night in Newcastle cured me of that - foolishy downing a not inconsiderable quantity of the stuff - being seriously indisposed for some days. :yuk:
After that, even the sight of a bottle made me distinctly queasy. Never touched a drop of the filthy stuff again.
Ban it forever I say :E

toffeez
8th Feb 2015, 20:50
When I was a student 50 years ago someone told me there was a special ward there for N Brown sufferers. Having tried the brew, I don't doubt it.

Fox3WheresMyBanana
8th Feb 2015, 22:19
The Free Northumbrian Air Force was lucky enough to get a visit to the Tyne Brewery in the early 80's, and the joy of a 20 minute tour and a one and a half hour tasting session, instead of the usual other-way-around timings.

Howay the Lads!

I drank my age in pints of 'Dog', at 20. Young, Stupid and Happy.

Blacksheep
9th Feb 2015, 13:34
'Jorney inta Spee-as' is brewed overseas these days, so by definition it's no longer the real thing. Same with HP sauce and lots of other things. If the Americans wish to believe they are drinking beer from the very county where their first president's family hailed, they are sadly mistaken.

They might try a drop of Blacksheep Ale of course. North Yorkshire beer and every drop is the real thing.

Bergerie1
9th Feb 2015, 13:39
Aaaah! 'Journey into Space' with Jet Morgan and Lemmy, see:- Journey into Space - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Journey_into_Space)

joy ride
9th Feb 2015, 13:53