View Full Version : Become a Pliot in Australia

Flying Spaniard
9th Jun 2001, 22:51
Hello,
I am studying college in Holland right now and i am probably moving to Australia next year when i finish, in Holland we got 4 ways of become a ATP
1.- KLS part of KLM
2.- NLS from the schreiner group
3.- The Airforce
4.- Via flight schools on all Dutch airports (max CPL or theorie ATPL)
It is very hard toget accepted at the Airforce or NLS, KLS only 25 of the 120 people that aply for the school get selected and then again at the KLS people have to pay almost $AU200.000.- NLS is little chaper but you dont got the accomodation and the KLM's "good name"
Though there are very good lend and bank loans in holland you might even get sponsorship from the KLM in theory it is possible for anyone (money or not) for doing the course.
I think it is a waste of time for me to go and try to do it here in Holland becuase it is so hard to get in and at the end of the ATP course you only have about 250 hours and that is not much.
My girlfriend is from Australia and she studys there, i want to move there and study for pilot there. For that i need to be fluent in english and need some kind of
Baccalaureate in English which i dont have but i can get, i can do a test there if my information is correct.(talking about NSW)
I want to know what the posibilities are for me to go and get my ATPL in Australia.
Is it easyer to get PPL first and then go and get CPL and then Instrumental rating and so on till ATPL?
What are the approx costs?
What does the "rent" costs of a Cessna 152 in Australia? In Holland and Spain i pay about AU$240 per hour i think this is very expensive compared to Asutralia, is this correct?
Any tips for me?
i already got a RPL which is comparable to PPL but only qualified for the Netherlands and Spain and i also got 172 hours on the 152 and Piper warrior II will this help me to get into a flying school?
Many thanks

------------------

AICUS
10th Jun 2001, 11:54
Flying Spaniard,