PDA

View Full Version : First sign of DEFLATION?????

er340790
18th Dec 2014, 15:46
Donkeys' years ago, I studied Economics. This was just after Mrs. T cranked interest-rates sky-high to choke off the late 1970s inflation with Milton Friedman's 'Monetarist' approach. Reagan did the same in the States.

I distinctly remember at that time that along with the Supply & Demand fundamentals, another one was that prices, or interest rates (= the price of money) could NEVER go negative - because no sane person would ever pay a bank in order to lend their own money TO the bank!!!!!

It seems, it was wrong. Well, not wrong per se, but a clear indicator of the insane times we live in since the bank-induced crises of 2008.

The Bank of Switzerland Rate is now MINUS 0.25%. :eek: :\ :\ :} :E :{

You want to put your money with us?????? IT'S GONNA COST YOU!!!!!!!!

I'm no expert, but I am saying that something, somewhere is broken. Badly broken. :8

OFSO
18th Dec 2014, 15:51
because no sane person would ever pay a bank in order to lend their own money TO the bank!!!!!

For some years now there have been banks which pay no interest or such low interest that their maintenance fees represent a depreciation of your capital. Which, however, is kept private from prying eyes.

G&T ice n slice
18th Dec 2014, 15:55
I believe the Swiss have always done this to foreigners (i.e. non-resident, non-Swiss holding CHF-denominated secret bank accounts) the actual "negative" rate is somehow linked to the exchange rate of the CHF to a bundle of currencies. In times of turmoil very large inflows of actual cash means that the CHF appreciates rapidly and this of course means that CHF denominated exports become rapidly uncompetitive pricewise in international markets.

So the Swiss take a very negative view of sudden large inflows and make it very unappealing to lodge cash with them.

of course, a bag marked "swag" hidden in a deposit box is somewhat different.

bnt
18th Dec 2014, 15:59