PDA

View Full Version : As a student pilot, what should I read? What should I watch?

youcanever
1st Dec 2014, 20:20
I am a student pilot. I am studying Jeppesen books for PPL & ATPL studies, and also watching some videos on youtube. Besides that, I've downloaded couple of apps like "flightradar24", "aviationherald" etc.

Other than these, what should I read? What are the "must know" topics for me? I am very new to aviation and learning from the scratch. Would you recommend me some blogs or websites or channels to follow?

My Cessna flight lessons will start in 3 weeks. I also would like to know if you can give me some advice about what basics should I know before flying with instructor?

I'd like to make a good start.

Thank you in advance.

Armchairflyer
1st Dec 2014, 20:45
Off the top of my head ...
Books:
"Stick and rudder" by Wolfgang Langewiesche.
"Flight discipline" by Tony Kern.
Online:
http://www.faa.gov/regulations_policies/handbooks_manuals/aircraft/airplane_handbook/media/faa-h-8083-3b.pdf
http://www.faa.gov/regulations_policies/handbooks_manuals/aviation/pilot_handbook/media/FAA-H-8083-25A.pdf
See How It Flies (http://www.av8n.com/how/)

Gpro
4th Dec 2014, 20:58
Sounds like you're on the right path with the right attitude. Well done. Just repare fully before each flight.

I didn't go to OAA for the ATPL exams however, their ATPL MEt interactive did was the best £60 I spent. I went from reading words to understanding.

Good luck

glendalegoon
9th Dec 2014, 01:18
go out and buy, "STICK AND RUDDER" like armchair flyer says.

"SPIRIT OF ST LOUIS" by lindbergh

"Fate is the hunter" gann

get the movies to the two above also!

learn in a piper not a cessna if you have a choice! a real piper not that import job.

good luck

oh, and if its legal where you live, buy a small radio to listen to aeronautical frequencies in your local airport area.