PDA

View Full Version : PTSD Soldiers

Fliegenmong
12th Nov 2014, 11:10
Watching my Father in Laws slow demise.....he has about 30% chance of surviving the next 12 to 18 Months...this seems appropriate....he was an RAN Lieutenant, Naval helicopter pilot / instructor (Don't worry, I set him straight and told him that Helis don't fly, they are just rejected by the Earth 'cos of their ugliness...I think he appreciated that ..:ouch:)

https://www.youtube.com/embed/Wq0X0bwMprQ?feature=player_embedded

Equipment failure in Vietnam left his stricken Iroquois downed in the jungle, unable to shut down the engine and covered in petrol, and having sustained a broken back....it was all over for him...but he made it...somehow...the drink and the fags have all but caught up now.... :{

onetrack
12th Nov 2014, 12:16
Fliegenmong - As a fellow Vietnam Vet, I'm saddened to hear of your FIL's slow downward spiral.
I trust he receives all the help he needs. The VVCS is very good.
That YouTube vid is moving beyond anything I've heard and seen. Thanks for posting.

rgbrock1
12th Nov 2014, 12:30
onetrack and FIL of Fliegenmong: thank you for your service sirs. Much respect. Most people, outside of Australia anyway, probably have not a clue that Aus was quite involved with the "festivities" in 'Nam at the time.

But back to the subject of PTSD.

My father, now departed for a few years, was a US Marine in the Korean war. He was in a "special unit" which was the precursor of Force Recon. This unit was attached to the 1st Marines during that conflict. As such, my father was intimately involved in the festivities at Chosin Reservoir.