PDA

View Full Version : Java - do I need it?

Pelikal
22nd Aug 2014, 19:02
Idiot question. Lately, I've been constantly informed that a Java update is available and would I like to install it. I haven't because I don't know what it does! I seem to remember on one these forums that a query was raised but I don't know where it was.

I've done a search and some advice seems to be just get rid of Java from the system. Would appreciate any advice. I'm not a developer if that's any help.

Cheers.

Flying Bull
22nd Aug 2014, 21:12
Of you have it, you should Update it, cause older versions a open doors for malware.
Some webpages use it.
If you don't know, googlesearch helps....

onetrack
23rd Aug 2014, 00:04
Pelikal, Java programs are used to provide interactive graphics on billions of websites. These small, stand-alone programs are called Java Applets and they provide for some amazing graphics and multiple levels of intense information within webpages.

Java programs are recognised as being very useful and largely trouble-free, and they are accepted by 99.9% of computer users.
You need to download the Java Virtual Machine program to be able to view Java Applets - and the JVM requires regular updates to ensure the best, trouble-free viewing of Java graphics, and to keep up with increased security levels and other newer program developments that Java has to work with.

Java is free, it works admirably, and the only problem I have had, is an over-active anti-virus program that will stop Java from working properly, unless I ensure the AV program is advised that Java is a friendly program that does not need to be blocked.

Below is an example of a website that uses multiple Java applets to provide a high level of interactive information.
The website is the West Australian Govt's Land Information Authority, Landgate.