PDA

View Full Version : P.A.T Bournemouth Reviews?

kai farrant
13th Aug 2014, 23:36
Hi, has anyone visited or studied at proffessional air training in Bournemouth? As once i have completed my PPL license i am looking to continue my career as a Commercial pilot, i have rang PAT Bournemouth to enquire about ME/CPL/IR and they seem like a great school, friendly, and professional, has anyone had any experience with the school? it seems great! thanks alot.

bestman
16th Aug 2014, 08:24
Excellent school.

I did my CPL/IR there last year and recently renewed the ratings; I think they make a fairly demanding process as painless as possible.

When I renewed I met quite a few students there who had moved from another Bournemouth School they were unhappy with.

I've no idea how competitive they are on price - I sought the opinion of some well respected people in the industry, was recommended PAT and Exeter, and chose PAT because I could commute from home.

If you want to save money and time learn all the memory items till you can recite them in your sleep - I wish I had!

speed_alive_rotate
16th Aug 2014, 08:53
Hey Bestman, what memory items are you referring to?

bestman
16th Aug 2014, 19:19
They will send you info, including checklists, before you start.

Go through it all carefully, but make sure you learn the ones boxed in red, which you are expected to do from memory in the aircraft.

I believe there are 18 memory ones!

These range from simple B,R,F whilst taxiing - Brakes Rudder Flight instruments to B,U,M,F,F,F,S,L,A,C,C,C,M,M,I,G - you get the idea.

I'd even suggest getting a Duchess cockpit poster and practicing 'touch drills' in front of this.

Remember this is an expensive game, and by preparing really well, you'll save yourself a small fortune.

Good luck, PAT, have an excellent first time pass rate. It's finding a job that's the really tricky bit.....

speed_alive_rotate
16th Aug 2014, 21:22
Thanks Bestman, great advice.

darn
17th Aug 2014, 09:23