PDA

View Full Version : Bose QC20 IN-EAR headset, and airplane headset output levels?

cosmo kramer
8th Aug 2014, 14:06
First, this thread is supposed to be about the Bose Quiet Comfort 20 IN-EAR headset - not to be confused with the QC15 around-ear headset. (I'll provide a picture below, to avoid confusion).

The QC20 are in-ear noise canceling headphones. I imagine, if used with custom molds, that this must be the absolute most awesome combo, both in terms of comfort, noise reduction and hearing protection.

So the question:
Will they work in e.g. a Boeing 737, if used with a 3.5mm to 1/4 inch (PJ-055) converter?

I am no expert in audio, but is output level of the aircraft compatible with such standard HiFi headphones?

According to this site (http://stereos.about.com/od/StereoHeadphoneReviews/ss/Bose-Qc-20-Measurements.htm):
Sensitivity of the QC-20, measured with a 1 mW signal at 32 ohms (my standard impedance calculation for internally amplified headphones like the QC-20) is 104.8 dB, high enough to get loud levels from probably any source device.
I can't interpret that, but maybe someone more knowledgeable can give me a clue?

If they indeed would work, I would use them together with the mike of a Telex 5x5 headset, perhaps with custom molds.

(No my airline doesn't require TSO approved headsets, and neither is it a requirement of my authorities before anyone going down that line).

http://www.bose.com/assets/images/shop_online/qc20/qc20i_in_the_box.jpg

bucks_raj
8th Aug 2014, 16:48
Not mistaking the 2.....

I have the QC 15 with the ufm for an xlr5 for use in a TProp.The engine sound is cancelled pretty well how ever over a period of time i realized the Low Freq prop/wind is not.

The Vibrations and the Low freq sound still traveled through the Cushions /bones and causes throbing like sounds .

QC 20 + 737/320

You will need a >>MONO<< 3.5mm adapter for it ( stereo gives sound to only Left year )