PDA

View Full Version : Military pilot with no civil license, any chance of getting a job as copilot in UAE?

sailaani
26th Jun 2014, 21:50
hello every one
i am a military pilot with 1000 + hours on bell 412 EP helicopter.i am planning to step into civil aviation but honestly i dont have much info about this . i need help with some basic questions here like
a. i 'm presently serving in military and i dont have any civil/commercial license, is it possible to apply for a job in UAE with this status???

b. if not then my problem is that i can't apply for local cpl(H) while serving in military here (you need to have NOC), is there any chance i can do this license thing in UAE in case its a prerequisite?
i have heard that you can't get commercial license in UAE unless you have a job there

please reply and explain , i'd really appreciate your response.

jack schidt
27th Jun 2014, 02:40
Globally, you will have to have some form of commercial fixed wing civilian license to be hired by any civilian airline including the UAE

Globally = the whole planet will require you to have a civilian fixed wing license.

Commercial = Your military time in helicopters will most likely not count towards a fixed wing commercial license.

License = such as an FAA or EASA license. You will need to obtain this and complete all the required flight tests for it to ATPL level to fly for a carrier outside your country.

There is no way your current experience or qualifications will get you hired in any airline. You need to get that license and then come back here, good luck.

Wizofoz
27th Jun 2014, 04:13
I think he's talking about a rotary-wing job, Jack.

If that's so, yes you need a civilian CPL, but it doesn't have to be a UAE license.

I'd suggest doing some research on civilian schools in ICAO compliant states, and planning to use some leave to do the requisite truing exams and flight tests to get a licence.

The US would probably be cheapest, but Australia might be more accessible for you.