PDA

View Full Version : Freeview digital


chevvron
13th May 2014, 22:38
Ever since the switchover, on a retune I find I can get as many as 13 multiplexes. Extra channels they carry appear to be BBC South. My aerial points at Crystal Palace, but looking on a map, we seem to be on or close to a straight line joining the Palace and Hannington. Is it possible my aerial is receiving transmssions from Hannington, or are BBC South channels transmitted from somewhere else?
Toying with the idea of buying an HD tuner as one of my DTVs is 'HD Ready', but is it worth it? How many HD channels are available on Freeview?

tony draper
13th May 2014, 22:55
Give some thought to buying Humax HD PVR,it has HD Tuners and can record hundreds of hours of progs in full HD,there are five channels in full HD at the mo and more to follow,I am not even sure if you can still buy a stand alone HD Freeview box,I gave one away last week.
:)
I tell a lie,retuned mine tother night and I just noticed there are now 8 channels in HD on off air freeview

B Fraser
13th May 2014, 23:05
Freesat is broadcast from the same satellite as Sky so plug in an existing redundant dish to a Freesat TV or box and off you go.

tony draper
13th May 2014, 23:26
I put in a freesat box for a pal in Hexham a year or so back,he could get buggah all off air, but there was a Sky dish on his property,connected it up and we got it no probs, I always thought freesat was exactly the same program wise as freeview but it wasn't,it had different progs altogether than off air freeview.
I was a bit puzzled but he didn't care,he was just happy to have any progs.
:)

spekesoftly
13th May 2014, 23:37
HD Channels on Freeview



http://www.freeview.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/bbc1hd.png 101 (http://www.freeview.co.uk//whats-on/channels/categories/hd/bbc-one-hd)
http://www.freeview.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/bbc2hd.png 102 (http://www.freeview.co.uk//whats-on/channels/categories/hd/bbc-two-hd)
http://www.freeview.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/itvhd.png 103 (http://www.freeview.co.uk//whats-on/channels/categories/hd/itv-hd)
http://www.freeview.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/4hd.png 104 (http://www.freeview.co.uk//whats-on/channels/categories/hd/4hd)
http://www.freeview.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/bbc3hd.png 105 (http://www.freeview.co.uk//whats-on/channels/categories/hd/bbc-three-hd)
http://www.freeview.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/cbbc_hd.png 73 (http://www.freeview.co.uk//whats-on/channels/categories/hd/cbbc-hd)

Channels below are now rolling out (available to 70% of UK homes by June 2014). Check your channel line up here (http://www.freeview.co.uk/availability).


http://www.freeview.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/bbc4hd.png 106 (http://www.freeview.co.uk//whats-on/channels/categories/hd/bbc-four-hd)
http://www.freeview.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/bbc_news_hd.png 107 (http://www.freeview.co.uk//whats-on/channels/categories/hd/bbc-news-hd)
http://www.freeview.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/aljazeera_hd.png 108 (http://www.freeview.co.uk//whats-on/channels/categories/hd/al-jazeera-english-hd)
http://www.freeview.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/community_hd_website.png 109 (http://www.freeview.co.uk//whats-on/channels/categories/hd/community-channel-hd)
http://www.freeview.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/cbeebies_hd.png 74 (http://www.freeview.co.uk//whats-on/channels/categories/hd/cbeebies-hd)

Windy Militant
13th May 2014, 23:39
Have a look here gives the areas served by each group of Transmitters.
Hannington (and relays) | ukfree.tv - 11 years of independent, free digital TV advice (http://www.ukfree.tv/maps.php?key=subregion&c=23)

You may be picking up a booster but they're usually polarised differently to the main mast and have fewer channels than the main masts but might give you extras if your getting a signal.

chevvron
14th May 2014, 00:09
Thanks for that chaps. It would appear from spekesoftly's posting I should be getting 11 mx's with 11 HD channels available. I wouldn't bother with the kids channels as I have no kids, but I thought there were channels like The Racing Channel available available too; my tuners brings them up but a caption then says 'you do not have a compatible HD device'.
So it looks like BBC channels plus ITV and Ch4.
You can get standalone HD boxes on Amazon including one of those 'mini' ones which plugs straight into the scart socket, but from reviews it would appear some don't work on the UK system but on the Irish one (Soarview) instead.
I think I may invest!!

tony draper
14th May 2014, 00:22
Are you sure they are not just standard freeview boxes?,you cannot get HD through a scart it must be a HDMI connection,Humax made the only HD freeview box I ever came across,ie it had HD Tuners not just the standard digital tuners, there may have been others but they cost about four or five times what a normal freeview box cost.
:)
If I remember correctly the Humax HD box cost me 120 quid,it became surplus when I got the Humax HD PVR a few months later,I should have waited,the story of my life where technology is concerned.:(

chevvron
14th May 2014, 00:34
I put 'HD' in the Amazon search box and it came up with several non PVRs starting at under 30 and the reviews indicated they were getting HD channels, apart from the one (Konig, 41.97p) which plugged straight into the SCART. Maybe the reviewer missed the fact he had to attach an HDMI lead as well; there's definitely an HDMI 'out' socket on it's side.!!
There are several for sale in Currys and TESCO but they're all PVRs so more expensive.

tony draper
14th May 2014, 00:55
If you thinking of upgrading your telly in the near future I wouldn't bother as nearly all new TVs come with HD tuners as standard,again I bought mine a year early and should have waited,it has digital tuners but not HD tuners,but if you can get a freeview box with HD tuners for thirty quid now go ahead.
:)

chevvron
14th May 2014, 06:04
I have 3 TVs in use (lounge 26'', Kitchen 19'', dining room 22''). The lounge one is analogue but with a Thomson TopUpTV SD box (which also records) plugged in, the other two are 'HD ready' so digital but SD tuner only and it's one of these I intend using the HD tuner on.

chevvron
15th May 2014, 00:29
I took the plunge and ordered the Konig.

acbus1
15th May 2014, 09:03
Don't buy anything that won't display repeats of Freeview programmes, or you'll end up with a permanently blank screen. :rolleyes:

tony draper
15th May 2014, 09:29
You're ok if you like old comedies from fifty years ago,:rolleyes:

chevvron
15th May 2014, 09:53
The Konig can record via a memory stick.

spekesoftly
15th May 2014, 10:41
If the stick is formatted FAT32 then the maximum individual file size is 4GB which won't take much more than about one hour of an HD recording (about two hours SD), depending on the bitrate of the transmission. So for long programmes you may wish to record them in two parts.

The hard drive on Humax PVRs is formatted EXT3 so file size isn't an issue, but archiving long recordings to a FAT32 stick or portable HDD is.

chevvron
15th May 2014, 16:46
It's arrived; haven't had time to set it up yet. No mention of the fact you must use the HDMI to get HD channels and no HDMI cable included, hence the problem experienced by the reviewer on Amazon.

tony draper
15th May 2014, 17:04
I think scart will only give you the standard 625 line Pal picture or the digital equivalent, (I'm not even sure how these bloody digital TVs work now)I had a freeview digi box connected to my CRT Sony via scart,it just took the off air digital signal and converted it to analog picture suitable for the older style analog TVs I think.
Modern kit does that it calls upscaling but it is nowhere near summat like 1080p HD.
I think you might be confusing the normal digital channels with HD Digital channels,you will probably get all the digital channels but not the digital channels transmitted in HD.
It doesn't matter if your TV says it is HD ready,unless you have something external that will feed the telly the HD signal via a HDMI connection,you are out of luck.
:confused:
Come to think Bro Draper bought a PVR that only has scart out a while back (because he is a cheap skate)it is just a digi box with a Hard Disk recorder.:)

Windy Militant
15th May 2014, 18:50
spekesoftly will they accept NTFS formatted drives? we had a similar problem with downloading High speed video data on USB hard drives a couple of years ago. The drives came as FAT 32 to work with older MS systems. We reformatted to NTFS and no problems other than the capacity of the drive.
Makes me wonder how the HI MO guys do it!

spekesoftly
16th May 2014, 07:02
Windy Militant - Humax PVRs can read but not write to NTFS. (I don't know about Konig and others). I use an EXT3 formatted USB portable hard drive with a Foxsat HDR.

B Fraser
16th May 2014, 08:41
Freesat has a good range of HD channels amongst the 200 odd available. There are all the normal ones plus a few others that includes the Japanese HD channel that is broadcast in higher definition than BBC HD.

The poor dears at the Beeb complained that every last zit was visible when they were pumping out full HD on Freesat so the BBC bit rate has been throttled back to match terrestrial HD.