PDA

View Full Version : A-320 IAE IDG drain mast oil leak

Jimmy Hoffa Rocks
10th May 2014, 09:02
For maintenance engineers and piltots please

During pre flight inspections on the A 320 IAE motors found a small oil leak out of the IDG hole of the drain mast.

According to the Airbus, with this oil leak, you must do a test with the engines in idle, to see if there are more than 3 drops of oil per minute.

Before doing a flight the engines in idle test with qualified maintenance engineers this seems the only way to be sure.

Does anyone have any more info on this ?

More info than what the FCOM says on the IAE drain mast, sump, etc,

Thanks in advance for your help:ugh::confused:

Zaphod Beblebrox
10th May 2014, 12:09
I have limited knowledge of the IAE engines however on the CFM models leaks of oil and or fuel can be common. This is most likely to occur after an extended shut down period or overnight. I have had to motor an engine on several occasions prior to push back to ensure the leak has stopped.

Maintenance has several theories on CFM leaks. Our fleet is mixed and we have some IAE but I have not flown that version. Some Maintenance techs are of the opinion that they observe more leaks in windy conditions. If the aircraft is parked with its tail to the wind the fans spin backwards. The theory is that there may be some very slow movement of the inner spool which causes the seals to lie the wrong way. They are cold and less pliable. This is especially noticeable in the winter. Once the engine is started the seals are aligned properly and the tighten up and the leaking stops.

In your situation it may be that the IDG was over-serviced. It is a normal overnight maintenance check at a lot of carriers and sometimes the IDG oil filler neck is not easy to get to or it is easy to over-service. The old Prat's were very sensitive to CSD overfills.