PDA

View Full Version : Don't use vinegar

TWT
8th Apr 2014, 01:13
Vinegar makes box jellyfish stings worse, Australian researchers say - ABC News (Australian Broadcasting Corporation) (http://www.abc.net.au/news/2014-04-08/vinegar-makes-box-jellyfish-stings-worse-aust-researchers/5374274)

I don't plan on getting anywhere near a box jellyfish :ooh:

Fox3WheresMyBanana
8th Apr 2014, 01:19
Vinegar has been the standard treatment. As a scuba instructor I was taught to use it, and always carried it (though never had to use it).

Capetonian
8th Apr 2014, 01:26
Apparently peeing on it is also a good relief.

Worrals in the wilds
8th Apr 2014, 03:24
Best treatment; don't get stung in the first place. :}

Unless a person is unlucky enough to cop one in the face, fall off a boat or similar there is no excuse for getting stung by a box jellyfish. They're hardly a state secret. Stinger suits look a bit dorky but they're a lot less dorky than getting stung. They also keep the sun off.

Buster Hyman
8th Apr 2014, 04:08
I prefer to drink vinegar to be honest...

Track5milefinal
8th Apr 2014, 04:20
http://dansvillefitnessclub.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/ipeeing_on_jellyfish_sting_01.jpg

:ok::ok::}

onetrack
8th Apr 2014, 05:43
Box jellyfish stings (Irukandji) are so potent, they also seriously damage the bodys nervous system, and leave numerous people that have been stung, with lingering heart muscle problems. It's said the pain from a BJ sting is unbelievable.

The worst part is the box jellyfish is spreading from its usual habitat in Northern waters to waters further South, and increasing numbers of BJ stings are being recorded on the North-West Coast.

There were 88 recorded cases of BJ stings at Broome between Jan 2001 and July 2003. Broome is currently the worst region for Irukandji stings, and there's major differences in sting conditions and sting results between Nth Qld and the North of W.A.