PDA

View Full Version : Automatic buildings

Blues&twos
22nd Jan 2014, 21:08
My company moved from an old 1970s office block into a brand new, purpose built office about 9 months ago. The new building is very pleasant inside and is a vast improvement on the old one, but something has started to really wind me up.

Everything is automated.

Lighting switches itself on and off. The doors open themselves. The toilets flush on their own, the taps dispense ready mixed hot/cold water to a set temperature, the soap dispenser has an electronic sensor, and there are no hand towels - only automatic hand driers. I'm a controls engineer so I'm not averse to a bit of useful automation.....but the new building seems to be making small decisions for me every five minutes. This is now getting on my tits. What's wrong with normal taps? Switches? Doors I can wedge open? The mixer tap in one of the gents toilets has a bloody USB socket!

Anyone else feel like this....or just me? :ugh:

500N
22nd Jan 2014, 21:12
It's not just you.

I don't work in one of those buildings but when I do go into them occasionally I sometimes get a bit surprised when something happens - like a door opens when not expecting it to et al.

Gulfstreamaviator
22nd Jan 2014, 21:19
This I must see............ the ultimate optional extra......

Glf

gingernut
22nd Jan 2014, 21:21
I've got a "PIR" controlled halogen light outside me shed. One day I'll wire it up.

All joking apart, it seems to have gone a bit far.

S'pose if it saves a bit of 'leccy, and makes things easier for those with mobility problems, the it 'aint a bad thing.

To be honest, the buildings that I worked in, in the seventies, seemed to suffer from Sick Building Syndrome resulting in blocked noses etc, modern buildings seem better lit and ventilated.

No flippin'character though. Having a p*ss in the Philharmonic Pub, Liverpool is an experience to be rivaled.

A A Gruntpuddock
22nd Jan 2014, 22:21