PDA

View Full Version : Guidelines for inflight CPR

Code Blue
12th May 2002, 21:23
After a recent occurence over the Atlantic, I was wondering if the experts here could shed some light on the above.

What SoPs or guidance is given to cabin crew on the matter of CPR in the cruise portion of the flight?

It's easy enough to start :eek: , but do you have any guidelines on whether or when to stop?

Rgds
CB

ditzyboy
13th May 2002, 05:46
Only the Pilot in Command can allow you to stop.... That includes doing it during final descent and immediately after landing. I cant remember whether or not we can do it DURING landing... I think we can actually!

Having said the above though - if you are too tired and no other crew member can relieve you I think we have the right to stop due to our own danger or risk to health.

Hope that helps.

stormywx
13th May 2002, 05:55
Hi Code Blue,

I'm a pilot and can confirm what ditzyboy has said, only the PIC can advise the crew to stop and usually that would only be after he/she has been in contact with the airlines ground medical staff and seeked advise on the situation. If there was a doctor on board however, it would be at their discresion.

It should be noted that NO-ONE crew included are actually legally required to begin CPR or to continue CPR if, at any stage there is a risk to themselves or other crew/pax. This could include, if the aircraft was experiencing turbulance, if the pax being treated was considered high risk or during an instrument approach and landing.

In the last 12 months, most large airlines (QF & DJ included) have linked up with ground medical organisations so they can get advise from trained medical personnel on any medical condition they may encount.

Cheers
stromy

mainfrog2
13th May 2002, 07:46
Our rules for CPR are

Stop if:

1 Signs of breathing and circulation resume
2 The scene becomes unsafe
3 CPR has been given for 30 mins with the defib advising No Shock and there being no signs of life.