PDA

View Full Version : eeeeeeeee bay. I'm not very good at this.

Loose rivets
10th Dec 2013, 04:25
I hope my watch comes out okay, but prior to that I bid on a monitor.

I'd been so pleased with my 19" LG that I took it to the UK and left it there. I wanted to replace it here in Texas. I bid 34 US and won. Fine . . . but I'd assumed the 54 bucks I'd seen was shipping and the cost of the item. Nope, I was wrong. My bad (whatever that means) but I'm stuffed for 88 bucks - the price of a NEW HP with free shipping. Oh, and with the right of returns, which mine doesn't have.

It was just a case of not reading the blurb properly. I was comparing a lot of technical details and missed the [email protected]@dy obvious. My only other experience of selling on this huge site was in 2011 and in the UK. That started badly, the seller saying I'd have to pay shipping. Two other experienced sellers said I was right in thinking Buyer Collects means I sit back and wait for them to get it. But no, it meant they pick it up from their local Post Office. :ugh: eeeee buy said I was confused. They were right, and still am.

Is it just me or are others of the opinion one needs a resident lawyer to defend one from these pitfalls? I've never been good at gleaning information from the written word - much easier to pull stuff apart to see how it works and leave forms for the intelligentsia.

david1300
10th Dec 2013, 07:33
Sorry for the bad news, but yes, it's pretty well much you:p. Mostly the descriptions, terms and conditions are easy to understand. I have just received my laser projector for Christmas decoration of the house (1 item to locate and plug in only) and tomorrow my new headlight globes will arrive at $25 less than the local spares shop (that's a 33% saving) and I won't even spend the petrol $ going to collect :ok:

John Hill
10th Dec 2013, 08:00
There seems to be multiple meaning for 'buyer collects'.