PDA

View Full Version : Edit


Lightning Mate
3rd Dec 2013, 12:19
What is wrong with the PPRuNe edit function ?

500N
3rd Dec 2013, 12:26
That is question 1.

Question 2 is, why when I log on to JB and Military forum,
the page for JB seems to take twice as long to "connect" and
then load up whereas the Military forum connects and loads
up straight away.

I am talking when I first start up, not after I have already
visited the pages although I do note that even then, JB takes
longer to connect.

603DX
3rd Dec 2013, 12:39
I find nothing wrong with the edit function at present. When making a change to one's post within a reasonable time, say 3 - 5 minutes, the edit appears as wanted, without leaving that irritating note at the bottom. That only appears if one has exceeded the pre-set time limit. That's what it used to do before the powers that be made the "anti-bot" changes to the system, I think.

To demonstrate this, I added this line at 12.42, without incurring the note.

Whereas I added this second line later at 12.48, and there is the note back again ...

Lightning Mate
3rd Dec 2013, 12:56
Well, I've just tried to edit 20 seconds after a post and - nothing.

603DX
3rd Dec 2013, 13:02
Ah, you're obviously too quick on the draw for the little "edit" fairies to turn their cranks, handles and cogs - there's a shortish time lag before the posting "establishes" itself, I suspect. ;)

(I don't actually know any more than you do LM, I'm just guessing ... )

Lightning Mate
3rd Dec 2013, 13:07
I've just selected edit for my post #4 and it gave me the option.

It doesn't on another thread though. :uhoh:

500N
3rd Dec 2013, 13:11
Edit is now working for me on this thread.

But on other threads edit doesn't seem to work all the time.

Lightning Mate
3rd Dec 2013, 13:13
It doesn't work on WoE.

Perhaps a moderator can give us an answer.

dead_pan
3rd Dec 2013, 14:04
Its a little known fact that PPRuNe is run by a bloke moonlighting in RBS's IT support team. Apparently he's been a tad busy today.

handsfree
3rd Dec 2013, 14:33
The reason Jet Blast takes longer to load up than Military is obvious - it has to go through all the GCHQ filters first.
That lot know where all the good stuff is. :=

rgbrock1
3rd Dec 2013, 16:31
500N wrote:

Question 2 is, why when I log on to JB and Military forum,
the page for JB seems to take twice as long to "connect" and
then load up whereas the Military forum connects and loads
up straight away.

I am talking when I first start up, not after I have already
visited the pages although I do note that even then, JB takes
longer to connect.

Ever hear of cleaning out the cache of your browser, 500n? Works wonders!
(Sheesh. Do we have to clue you Aussie SF blokes in on everything? :}:}:})

superq7
3rd Dec 2013, 16:41
RG
I don't want to appear fick ( which I probably am) but wot or how do you do that
Ps I'm on an ipad.

rgbrock1
3rd Dec 2013, 16:51
superq:

Ah, an Apple Inc. fanboy! (Just kidding. Some am I.)

If you're using an iPad then more than likely you're using Safari as a browser, no?

If so do the following:

Go to the "Settings" icon.

Select the option labeled 'Safari'.

Select the option 'Clear Cache' (Toward the bottom)

Your browser's cache is now clear and things should noticably speed up.

I'm glad I was able to list the steps needed to clear the Safari cache. With 500N I'm sure I'm going to have to provide pictures. :}:}:}

superq7
3rd Dec 2013, 17:04
RG you are now on my Christmas card list thanks chum :ok::ok:

rgbrock1
3rd Dec 2013, 17:07
superq:

A twelve-pack of Spaten Lager will suffice, thank you very much! :ok::ok::ok:

alisoncc
3rd Dec 2013, 21:17
I'm glad I was able to list the steps needed to clear the Safari cache. With 500N I'm sure I'm going to have to provide pictures. http://images.ibsrv.net/ibsrv/res/src:www.pprune.org/get/images/smilies/badteeth.gifhttp://images.ibsrv.net/ibsrv/res/src:www.pprune.org/get/images/smilies/badteeth.gifhttp://images.ibsrv.net/ibsrv/res/src:www.pprune.org/get/images/smilies/badteeth.gif

It's still quite early in the morning here, so he's probably not awake yet.

rgbrock1
3rd Dec 2013, 21:20
Actually, alison, I'm betting Mr. 500N is indeed awake. Perhaps not awake, bright-eyed and bushy-tailed but awake nonetheless. :}

Dushan
3rd Dec 2013, 23:39
superq:

Ah, an Apple Inc. fanboy! (Just kidding. Some am I.)

If you're using an iPad then more than likely you're using Safari as a browser, no?

If so do the following:

Go to the "Settings" icon.

Select the option labeled 'Safari'.

Select the option 'Clear Cache' (Toward the bottom)

Your browser's cache is now clear and things should noticably speed up.

I'm glad I was able to list the steps needed to clear the Safari cache. With 500N I'm sure I'm going to have to provide pictures. :}:}:}

You must be running your own iOS, RGB. No such thing as "clear cache" on the iPad. Clear cookies and clear history.

500N
4th Dec 2013, 00:05
Dushan
Good point, but let RGB think he is a legend in his own lunchbox !!! :O


RGB
I was up bright and early to take the car for a service !

superq7
4th Dec 2013, 00:13
Dushan
That's what I did ie clear cookies and history, mind you I haven't a clue what cookies are, except there nice to eat :ok:

500N
4th Dec 2013, 00:14
Super

Closing app and shutting down also clears the "cache" so if you do that
every day, it kind of does the same thing.

Dushan
4th Dec 2013, 00:16
Cookies feed our browser so he stays nice and friendly:8

rgbrock1
4th Dec 2013, 15:04
Dushan:

Dunno which iOS you're using but straight from Apple's support web site is this:

Safari > Preference > Advanced
Checkmark the box for "Show Develop menu in menu bar".
Develop menu will appear in the Safari menu bar.
Click Develop and select "Empty Caches" from the dropdown.


:p:p:p