PDA

View Full Version : Old RB 211s/CFM-56s for educational use

Azhiwen
6th Nov 2013, 09:44
Hi all,

I am a lecturer at an educational institute teaching Aircraft Structures and Systems. As part of the team that is retrofitting the static displays in our training hall, we are looking to procure a used RB211 or CFM-56 for both educational and display purposes.

The engine does not need to be air worthy but should be free of rust marks and if possible made for training purposes, ie. allows for removal of components.

Does anyone know of any companies that deal with such equipment?

Thanks in advance.

mtoroshanga
8th Nov 2013, 10:21
May I point out that RB211s are used off-shore on production platforms so I suggest that retired aircraft units probably end up there.

Bye
11th Nov 2013, 20:35
the industrial RB211 is a very long way from one that flies.

i would suggest you get in touch with the RR learning centre in Derby, you should be able to find a contact on the website, if not let me know and i'll find you a contact.

The biggest problem you will have is that the metals are very valuable these days, so scrap value is high and they have a lot of precious metals hidden away for recovery, such as gold brazing etc so the melting pot is where most of them end up.

GB

Thrust Augmentation
13th Nov 2013, 01:03
The guy that runs one in his back garden may be able to advise;

Rolls Royce RB 211-22B | Jet Propulsion (http://jetpropulsion.co.uk/jet-engine-projects/rolls-royce-rb-211-22b)

mtoroshanga
13th Nov 2013, 15:55
I've got two little dogs next door that bark and wake me up at 05:00
thank God he's not my neighbour or I would be looking for a SAM7!!!

VFD
14th Nov 2013, 02:36
The guy that runs one in his back garden may be able to advise;
I need to borrow that RB211, fall has come and the leaves have fallen. That bad boy ought to blow the leaves into someone else's yard in seconds.:rolleyes:

VFD

NutLoose
14th Nov 2013, 11:09