PDA

View Full Version : 787 E/E Hatch

woodja51
11th Oct 2013, 03:56
I see that the new dreamliner may have a mechanism fitted to secure the electronics hatch in flight that requires special tools to access from the passenger compartment... unlike earlier aircraft this seems new..

Without revealing exactly how it works ( for obvious reasons) can anyone ( LAME etc) at QF or JQ shed any light on why it was fitted , when etc and in general how it operates.. And what precipitated doing this in the first place?

looking over the type approvals there is not much in this area... Other than interference with aircraft data systems externally..

Any help appreciated!

gas path
11th Oct 2013, 07:42
It's locked and secured down. No need for a driver to go down there...they wouldn't have a clue anyway!:p
A future batch of a/c may not even have a hatch installed.

Chris Scott
11th Oct 2013, 16:32
gas path,

As a retired driver I won't rise to that comment!

In the early days on the A320, we could get down into what was generally referred to as the electronics bay. It's behind the nose L/G bay, and containsthe majority of the computers, including most of the FBW computers, the ADIRSs and the FMGCs. (The other bay, containing the NiCd batteries, was never accessible from the cabin, and is forward of the nose L/G bay).

One good thing was that we could use it as an exit from the a/c in the absence of ground crew, if airstairs were not available. (Once had to do something similar at Khartoum via "Lower 41" on a B707 freighter, which didn't have airstairs.) Also, although I would never have tried re-racking a computer, I can imagine circumstances where I might have done so under instruction/liaison with maintenance control. There was an ACP down there for comms, IIRC.

Swedish Steve
11th Oct 2013, 20:54
The hatch from the cabin to the MEC on our aircraft has been screwed shut now for a few years. The pilots know how to open it. It is to stop a passenger getting in there.