PDA

View Full Version : Quick intro and 1st question

mo_bhaiyat
7th Oct 2013, 18:57
Firstly abit about me. I'm Mo and I'm a 25 year old apprentice at Airbus. I'm in my 3rd and final year and have decided that eventually I want to become a licensed maintenance engineer. Ever since I was small I wanted to be a commercial pilot but have now given up on what seems to be an unrealistic unachievable dream. Instead I will try and concentrate my efforts on giving my son the opportunity to become whatever he wants to be when he grows up. Oh and anothe baby on the way in December.

That's enough about me, now to my question. I have to write a report on EICAS. Is there any books or websites anyone recommends that I can read up info on and anything anyone thinks I must include in my report?? Also have to write about EHM but the Internet has a fair amount on this. Any help would be great.

Thanks

Mo B

Tech_Log
8th Oct 2013, 14:22
Hi there Mo

Depends what exactly the report is about with regards EICAS and how long it needs to be. EICAS system (Engine Indicating and Crew Alerting System) was introduced in the Boeing 757 and 767.
Maybe include the differences between EICAS and ECAM and talk about how EICAS highlights messages in priority order (text colour changes).

Rockwell Collins website has a bit of info on the system. Otherwise Google is probably your best friend if you don't have any e-manuals available.

I doubt there is too much literature in the public domain specifically about the system, at least not much more than you can achieve through Google.

P.s - if you want to be an LAE maybe you should jump ship to an airline maintenance organisation. Would be more relevant to defect fixing and rectification than a manufacturer I'd have thought ?

Safe flying
Tech_Log

mo_bhaiyat
8th Oct 2013, 19:42