PDA

View Full Version : DG incidents and accidents

james beckford
23rd Sep 2013, 20:48
HI all,

I am a DG instructor trying to put some training material together when I was asked a question, "how often does DG go wrong, why do I have to spend so long learning this c##p"

would really appreciate any feedback on how often everybody else out there has encountered a problem and a brief description. I am more interested in the little incidents that you have picked up and rectified, not the ones that blew a plane out of the sky.

All anonymous, I am just trying to put a general trends list together to focus my students minds.

Thanks in advance

TOWTEAMBASE
23rd Sep 2013, 21:52
Maybe it's BECAUSE we sit this crap that it DOESNT go wrong very often.

james beckford
24th Sep 2013, 09:37
Hi Tow team,
I know that and so do you, I am just trying to prove to students how important it is.

My own example was a wet cell battery in a box 3 times to big for it with no means of securing the battery inside, contrary to the rules I opened the box as I wasnt happy and discovered the battery had rolled on its side and was starting to leak.

It had passed acceptance checks as by the rules it was okay.

we all know that those of us who take our jobs seriously find these things all the time but they never get reported outside the company so no one else learns frm others mistakes.

I dont think its c~~p I was quoting a traffic team member who quite obviously didnt want to be on the course

TOWTEAMBASE
26th Sep 2013, 19:07
Was it a sealed box made for wet cell batteries, or just any old box. I know what you mean though, I've met their type many a time before

james beckford
27th Sep 2013, 08:13
Hi towteam,

no just a generic 4G box, no inner bag, just a load of polystyrene chips,
battery not secured, no orientation labels.

its the sort of thing that never ends up on the caa list of incidents cos no one got hurt but its the sort of incident im looking for more details off.