PDA

View Full Version : BA or BSc, and University Choice (Merged)

rich49
24th Apr 2002, 17:45
Hi,
I am looking to apply to a university at the moment but I need to make sure I make the right choice, I am thinking of taking a degree that deals with aircraft systems (electrical, fuel, hydraulic etc) but I am not too sure. I was wondering what other people here are studing and were at? Are they any degrees that would help me or increase my chances of becoming a pilot?
Thanks for any help

B1GGLES
24th Apr 2002, 17:49
RIch49,

Give Bristol Uni a look. I studied an MEng in Avionics there from 94-98 and it was well worth it. Course contained all the elements you mentioned with enthusiastic, ex-industry lecturers and Bristol has some great airline industry affiliations....BAe, Rolls, Marshalls Aerospace to name a few. Most of the grads from my year have gone into the aviation world. Couple of RAF entries, BA pilot and various engineering roles.

B1ggles

Pilot16
24th Apr 2002, 17:52
deleted

Crowe
24th Apr 2002, 17:59
Hi Rich

Don't worry too much about doing a degree that seems "relevant" - I don't think it'll help you get a pilot job (although as Biggles points out, it may get you contacts, which does help).

Do something you enjoy, and are good at - things like Physics or Aero Eng will probably be useful at for the ATPL writtens, but at the end of the day if you can do maths A-level say, the ATPLs aren't that tough, as long as you have the time to spend on them.

And just have a bloody good 3 or 4 years!

Some people will probably say that if you really want to be a pilot, don't go to uni, just spend the money on flying - well ok, but if you can get a decent degree (I'm not talking about some noddy effort in Knitting Science from Little Bogden College), it will set you up - god knows flying's not the most secure job ever
:(

You can only go to university once - you can fly for the rest of your life - anyway join the UAS and do both on the cheap.

Good luck

tomcs