PDA

View Full Version : Scared of flying and going on an ERJ145 HELP!

devon_guy
16th Aug 2013, 19:52
I'm travelling from BRS-MUC in September and it's on an ERJ145. I'm scared of flying at the best of times but the thought of being on such a tiny plane and going through turbulence terrifies me. Surely it will feel every gust of wind?

Can anyone reassure me please?

EMB-145LR
16th Aug 2013, 20:00
I'm a First Officer on the ERJ-145. Rest assured, despite the small cabin it's just the same as flying on a bigger jet. You may get a few little bumps on the climb out and on the approach, but it won't be dramatic and you'll probably feel just as you do on a 737 or A320. In fact, the ERJ is so good in crosswinds that at my company we have no crosswind limit, unlike a lot of larger aircraft, such as the A340, that only have 35kt limit.

The 145 is a great little aircraft, I love flying it. It's very capable, and the cabin service on bmi regional is great (or so I've heard). Just try to enjoy it. I'm sure you'll soon forget the size of the aircraft.

redsnail
16th Aug 2013, 20:02
It's fine. It's certified for it and will handle it well. It's not that small either.
Just imagine you're on a fast boat on a choppy lake. Same thing.

The crew will do their best to minimise the bumps but they can't avoid "some" movement. They won't fly into any thing it can't handle easily.

(Captain on a Hawker 800 which is smaller than an Embraer 145)

Dash8driver1312
16th Aug 2013, 20:18
First off, agree wholeheartedly with the above comments.

Second, notice is hereby given to all bizjet pilots (excepting BBJ and A319CJs), air taxi pilots, and GA drivers, you all now fly sub-micro-mini machines. Anything less than 29 metres in length and 20 metres span requires microscopes to assist in finding it.

devon_guy
16th Aug 2013, 20:24
Thank you for taking the time to reply everyone. I hope I'll be relaxed on the day!

Hotel Tango
16th Aug 2013, 21:21