PDA

View Full Version : Aspiring Airline Pilot - Should I start a PPL at 15 Years Old?

Tom Cahill
19th Jun 2013, 21:10
Hello,
Unfortunately I'm relatively new to the pprune forums so I don't know if this has been mentioned before - but I suppose it shouldn't hurt to ask again. :)

I'm aiming to become a commercial airline pilot (for airlines like BA, FlyBe or maybe EasyJet). I aim to get all of my certification (ATPL, CPL, etc) via their scholarship schemes e.g: BAFuturePilot - but as I'm sure you know, places are ridiculously competitive.

Would it be a good or bad idea to go for a PPL (which I would probably complete if I get onto a scholarship anyway), so that I stand a better chance of being accepted for a scholarship?

Being 15, I can't do my solo flights until 16/17, but was thinking of getting the PPL exams and assisted flights done before then - over a 1-2 year period. It will also enable me to fit it around my exams. Is this a good or bad idea at such an early age, and why?

I've been in the Air Cadets for nearly 2 years, and am aware of gliding scholarships which I intend to complete in addition to a possible PPL.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

thing
19th Jun 2013, 23:10
Go for it Tom, don't let it interfere with your schoolwork though. As you say, places are very hard to get so always have a plan B. You can fly solo at 16 and take your skills test at 17 so if you have the financial werewithall then starting at 15 seems like a good idea to me. Do go gliding if you get the chance, it's cheaper for one thing and it will broaden your flying.

Be aware that everything is changing exam wise very shortly, I think the number of exams you have to do is going up, no doubt someone in the know will be along to advise.

I might also add without I hope sounding patronising that from a 15 year old that was a well written and lucid post, you seem to have your goals set! Good luck.

Pace
19th Jun 2013, 23:31
Tom