PDA

View Full Version : EASA B1 engineer to FAA A&P

D-Gold
29th May 2013, 16:42
I'm a licenced EASA B1 engineer thinking about checking the opertunity to work in the USA. Anyone know the steps converting to A&P, and if its a struggle with the authoritys? And what rights you will have in line maintenance? Type courses, ratings etc.

And as a side question.. How is the working conditions for an A&P engineer in the US? Pay, working houers and so?

spannersatcx
30th May 2013, 19:05
there is no conversion either way.

You will also need a letter from an N reg carrier stating that YOU need to hold the licence.

There are no type ratings to my knowledge.

Pay is poor most that I have met in the past have 2 or 3 jobs.

Have a search on here has been asked many times before.

wrench1
31st May 2013, 20:09
D...

No conversion...best option is to contact an A&P testing school in the States that accepts overseas applicants...they will be able to see if you qualify and assist with getting your authorization tickets to take the tests. These tickets are only a verification process of minimum experience requirements to take the tests...and I think since you are already a licensed engineer you will be able to qualify...but don't know for sure. You can find advertisements on these testing schools in trade magazines like Trade-A-Plane or AMT...just make sure they handle overseas people.

Once you obtain A&P you basically have full privileges but these are further defined by the operator you work for as to what you can do and sign off. In its basic form an A&P can perform a task if: they have performed it previously; perform it under supervision of another who has done it; or, to the satisfaction of the Administrator (FAA). Most Part 135 and 121 ops have a more detailed qualification system though...which would include specific model schools, etc.