PDA

View Full Version : Aircrew visiting australia as tourist question ?

PPRuNeUser0215
26th Mar 2013, 22:25
Hi

I am an EK pilot and travel to Australia whilst on duty...
But I want to go there as a tourist for a few days and I have started an application for an eVisitors visa.

Pretty much at the end of the application, I saw a message saying that I was aleady holding a Visa to enter Australia (presumably my aircrew visa through EK) and that if I was to proceed further with the Evisa, my original visa would be canceled.
Clearly not what my intention so I have stopped and saved the application but what do you guys do ?
I am Ek, European passport holder and plan to travel to Australia in the next few days for leisure only.

Thanks

wiggy
26th Mar 2013, 23:49
Advice some of us got where I work (European outfit, European passports) when this was raised a few months back was that despite the internet warning in reality the two Visas should "co-exist" quite happily. AFAIK practical experience by seemed to back that up.

Dirigible
27th Mar 2013, 06:09
As a fellow EK pilot I also questioned this when I saw the warning on the application. I was advised to ignore, and did so. I have had no problems subsequently either as tourist or as crew.

donpizmeov
27th Mar 2013, 08:07
Get the E Visa. It is totally different to the maritime crew visa you would have for work.

The Don

PPRuNeUser0215
27th Mar 2013, 14:52
Ok thanks guys. Ignoring the warning seems to be the consensus around based on people's experience.

Safe flying.

jeff748
29th Mar 2013, 23:53
I agree with Don. I do not know how the others have been able to "ignore" the warning and travel to and from Australia on a company provided visa.
There is a glitch in the on-line visa system. When you apply you are told that you already have a visa, and you do, but it is a CREW visa and the system does not recognise the difference.