PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else the same when it comes to heights?

FlyingGoggles
24th Feb 2013, 13:07
Hello everyone,

The reason for this post is simple: I'm enrolled on a programme run by the Prince's Trust, that involves and overnight residential activity event (which is tomorrow) and then a week long one the following week.

It will involve things like climbing, caving, abseiling etc. All things I've never done before, and there's a slight issue.

I do not like heights.

I am absolutely fine in an aircraft (I am a nervous flyer but it's not the height that bothers me), but ask me to go up a ladder and I really, really hate it. Even a 3 rung ladder is quite difficult for me.

I don't understand how 30,000 feet, even 3,000 feet in an aircraft is fine, but the idea of a 40 foot abseil is actually making me really nervous. Can anyone shed any light on the matter? Also, if anyone's done any climbing, abseiling, high ropes courses, things like that, who can offer some reassurance and tell me what to expect, that'd be lovely.

Thanks in advance, and sorry if this is a stupid question :)

jamesdevice
24th Feb 2013, 13:14
"tell me what to expect, that'd be lovely"

You can expect to fall and break a leg. And you probably will break a leg....

Or you can not expect anything, simply go along for the ride and enjoy it. Its a new experience. Make the most.

500N
24th Feb 2013, 13:27
FG

Good on you for enrolling onto the activity :ok:

Like you, I hate heights, always have, always will.
My fear is falling from a height.

Now, because of my military activities, I had no choice but to do
Abseiling, climbing, para etc. (Have never done caving so can't comment.)

I haven't done it for a while but this is what helped me - some
of which I learn't on the courses.

Apart from having to bite the bullet, the biggest things I found
were
- knowing and thinking that the instructors know what they
are doing and reinforcing that all the time.