PDA

View Full Version : German taxes: Own transportation home-work

pilotman330
22nd Feb 2013, 07:56
Dear All,

I work for a german airline since 16 months and I am not very good at taxes forms etc.

Does anyone knows or can explain the german taxation regarding own transportation from home to work and back?

I heard that now, if you take your car, taxes pays two ways instead of one way. So it makes things interesting (double).

I was told that it is about 0,30€ for each Kilometer, is that right?

I got 700km in between home / work (550kms in germany + 150kms in belgium) so that means that I need to drive 1400kms if I drive to work up and down. I do it three times a month so that gives 4200kms each month.

so: 50 400kms/year.

That gives: 50400 . 0,30€ = 15 120€ that I can deduct from the taxes right?

I am asking the question, if I am right it would be quite interesting because fuelwise I would spend 5400 € so that's almost 10 000€ of tax return.

Would be good to get your point of view!

Thanks in advance!

mad_jock
22nd Feb 2013, 08:05
Get a german tax accountant todo it there are huge amounts of things you can claim for which you won`t know about. One friend recently got all there reunification tax back for the last 6 years. You also have to make sure that the paper work is right to dodge the church tax.

But you need to get the right one from a expat forum. Some see it as a social duty to extract as much as possible from expats and dodging the church tax is a sin.

FliegerTiger
22nd Feb 2013, 08:11
I always use a "Lohnsteuerhilfeverein" - they're a non-profit organisation, you can probably find one for your area - usually much cheaper than paying for a tax advisor (I got 1500 Euros reimbursed from my last tax declaration thanks to them). Where in Germany are you living?

pilotman330
22nd Feb 2013, 14:50
I got an appartment in Leipzig

mad_jock
23rd Feb 2013, 07:30
And Eastern German tax is different to Western.