PDA

View Full Version : When did you get your appendix out?

ChrisVJ
21st Feb 2013, 18:55
Mrs VJ had hers out last week. If you are mature and get even the least symptom don't delay. She got blood poisoning with it and has been a bear for a week!

Ozzy
21st Feb 2013, 19:00
Still got mine. Brother appendixless. When they did it they found bowel cancer. He was 13. Strapping good lad of 49 now (ex Army now a SWAT bloke) :)

Ozzy

con-pilot
21st Feb 2013, 19:28
Same here, still have mine.

AlpineSkier
21st Feb 2013, 19:33
@Chris

Sympoms being = apart from stomach=ache ?

vulcanised
21st Feb 2013, 19:35
Mine went walkies in the 70s.

Gangrenous when located.

M.Mouse
21st Feb 2013, 19:49
I am not an expert but the symptoms of a problem with the appendix are not necessarily clear cut. Mine was 'classic' starting with a general feeling of discomfort as if you have eaten too much or got a touch of wind with the discomfort migrating to the lower right side of the body. In my case the pain got progressively worse and I went from 'don't feeling like meeting the rest of the crew this evening' to 'I think I might have to see the doctor in the morning' to 'I am not sure I can last until morning' until I rang the doctor at 2 a.m. and was rushed to hospital to be operated on at 6 a.m!

I was in hospital (abroad because I was on a trip) for ten days. I met others in hospital for observation because doctors were uncertain whether they had a problem with their appendix or not.

Mine had burst and it was a seriously nasty time although I had first class care in the Joahannesburg hospital where I was treated. Interestingly from first feeling unwell to actual operation was 17 hours. Given that I was flying longhaul I could well have been incapacitated before reaching destination on a sector like LHR-SIN.

I shall never forget the date though because I woke the day after the operation to learn that the Princess of Wales had been killed in a the Paris car crash!

Slasher