PDA

View Full Version : Advice please on upgrading a computer

roach
20th Apr 2002, 18:28
I am hoping someone on this site can offer some advice….I am more inclined to take heed of comments here than from those at PC World.
I plan to upgrade my old W95 P90 to a W95 P2 (second-hand) and have a few questions.

How can I copy a lot of programmes and files from old too new?

Can I install Win XP over W95?

The new computer has only two USB ports, can I increase this and how?

The new computer has 128 RAM, how easy is it to increase to 256 SRAM?

Is it possible to remove the CDROM and replace with CD Writer?

Why don’t I buy a computer with the spec. I want….because the second-hand one is a gift!

Answers in words as close to one syllable ‘cause I am only a pilot!

Thanks.

stagger
20th Apr 2002, 19:28
- How can I copy a lot of programmes and files from old too new?

The easiest way to copy your data files might be to simply install the hard disk from your old system as a second hard disk on the new system. Then you can drag and drop between them. Assuming that the new system has no more than 3 IDE devices (hard drive, cd-rom, cd-rw, internal zip etc) then there should be a spare slot for the old drive. Installation is fairly straightforward but it involves opening the box and perhaps configuring some small switches. Can give more details on this if required.

As for your programs - if they're not installed on the new system you should install them using the original installation disks. You usually can't just copy the relevant Program Files directory since important information for each program is store in a central place - the Windows registry.

- Can I install Win XP over W95?

Yes but not recommended. Much better to do a clean install of XP.

- The new computer has only two USB ports, can I increase this and how?