PDA

View Full Version : Apple Mac

ExRAFRadar
12th Feb 2013, 12:57
The thread about Win 8 has a few 'Use a Mac' rent-a-crowd in there and it made me wonder:

Apart from Corporate Coloring In Depts, aka 'Graphic Design Team' what does anyone use their Mac for ?

Why would I pay the extra when a cheaper Win device seems to do everything I want ?

And lets not use the all too obvious 'Boots quicker' and 'No Viruses'

It boots quicker because it only has to run a few programs on hardware that the OS know's it will be using. And there are no viruses because where is the fun in targeting a system that only seems to be useful as a fast booting Web Browser.

Discuss.

Fox3WheresMyBanana
12th Feb 2013, 13:03
I worked as an Apple tech advisor briefly.
The main advantages are compatibility and ease of use. Simply put, you don't end up with intermittent problems or BSODs which can drain half a day of your life every time they happen. Few viruses is also a big factor. Tech advice is also very good. They do actually care.
I own a Windows PC, because there is software I use which is only workable in Windows, otherwise I'd have a Mac. Indeed, there is now software about that I think will enable me to run what I need on a mac, so I'll probably upgrade. The reliability is worth the extra cost.

Juud
12th Feb 2013, 13:03

Ignorant, offensive and bossy.

Great OP. :ok:

rgbrock1
12th Feb 2013, 13:16
Apple products, such as the Mac, are used extensively in graphics design, as you wrote.

Macs are also used extensively in the music production business.
Everything from recording, to editing to final production.

Macs are also used extensively in film production. Same as music business above.

A Macintosh, like any other computer, is a tool. You make of the tool what you want. But, as with other types of tools, some are better than others. For example: why pay more for a Bosch-made hammer than for a Black and Decker hammer?