PDA

View Full Version : Best Man Speech

RTN11
9th Jan 2013, 22:59
So I'm best man for the first time in a few months, just planning some speech ideas.

One idea is to pretend I'm not good at public speaking, and therefore wish to do it the only way I know, as a public address as if addressing passengers on an aircraft. There are plenty of obvious puns about turbulence en route etc, just wondering if people think this idea would work at all?

gileraguy
9th Jan 2013, 23:03
So if you're not not good at public speaking, wouldn't that mean you ARE good at public speaking?

Seriously though, if you are good at speaking over the PA system, that's not the same as public speaking.

Your idea might work if you wear your captains uniform.

G-CPTN
9th Jan 2013, 23:04
It depends on the clientèle - whether they are aviation-associated (or regular travellers) and whether the bride and groom are likewise.

Try not to be too corny though, as some people don't appreciate a smartarse.

gingernut
9th Jan 2013, 23:22
Brainstorm your ideas
write them down
have a few sleep's
juggle best idea's around in your head, go for a good walk
remember it's about them, and not about you, chuck out the bad stuff
mentally rehearse your best lines
have a few beers and forget idea's
have another walk and reconstruct idea's
write it down, word for word.
rehearse verbally in front of an honest audience (children are particularly good at giving the best honest feedback)
rehearse, rehearse, rehearse
take script into wedding for backup
enjoy it, you'll be great 'specially if you follow this advice:)

Capot
9th Jan 2013, 23:41
Don't drink to make it easier/funnier, it'll be a toe-curling disaster if you do for which the happy couple will never forgive you for ruining their day, and avoid that elaborately prepared joke with girls getting up all over the room to hand over their key to the bridegroom's flat........it's so old that it's got mould on it.