PDA

View Full Version : JAA license in the US

Air Bus Driver
13th Apr 2002, 15:39
Hi all!

I was furloughed by a major airline here in Europe a couple months ago, and haven't been able to find a new job since. I've got a JAA CPL/IR with "frozen" ATPL, 1200hrs TT of which 1000hrs on A320. As I am a dual citizen, and own an American passport, I am now considering moving to the States, to try my luck there.

Is it possible to convert my JAA license to an FAA, or do I have to take all the checkrides again in the US? If latter's the case, has anyone done this already or knows a good and reasonably priced place that offers such courses for experienced pilots?

How do you reckon my chances to find something in the US?

Appreciate any replies! ABD

regional guy
13th Apr 2002, 16:37
Air Bus Driver,

Converting from JAA to FAA should not be much of a problem. As far as I know, and I'm NOT an expert on this by far, you have to do the commercial and instrument written test, and a check-ride, but I may be wrong. Check the FAA.GOV site, look under Part 61 in the regulations. You should find info regarding converting there.
With your hours and experience, you should be able to find something over here, no doubt.

C4
13th Apr 2002, 22:17
You have to do it all again.. But only one exam and then the checkride.. Been there done that got the ticket.. Happy studying!!!

Air Bus Driver
14th Apr 2002, 00:42
Thanks for the replies, guys!!!

C4:
What do you mean by "only one exam"? Just one exam plus checkride to get my "frozen" ATPL or to get the CPL/IR? Do you mind sharing, at which flight school you did this, how long it took ya and how much it $$$? And most importantly, would you do it again? Thanks!!!

mutt
14th Apr 2002, 04:49
ABD

The FAA system only has CPL's and ATPL's, there is no such thing as a "Frozen ATPL". With 1200 hours you do not satisfy the requirements for the ATPL and would therefore only be allowed to obtain a CPL.