PDA

View Full Version : Aircraft iPad Holder

liam4393
27th Oct 2012, 16:03
Hi All,

I am a second year University student currently studying towards a Management degree, and one of our modules is to create a business idea and “pitch” it to a panel, although this is as far as the idea will go. Having recently been on a long haul flight, I found it rather awkward and annoying that when the meals/drinks come around and the tray table then has to be used to place the food tray/drinks on, it can be difficult to find somewhere to place an iPad whilst still being able to watch movies/videos on it. Furthermore, having to constantly look down at the screen during the flight caused my neck to get somewhat stiff. Therefore, my group idea was to create an iPad holder which would attach to the back of the seat in front (so the iPad is in normal position of a typical aircraft PTV screen) whilst causing no damage/marks to the aircraft seat or the iPad, and not affecting the passenger sitting in front of you. In line with the use of electronic items onboard, the holder would not be able to be attached to the seat in front until the seatbelt signs are off. It would also be designed to pass existing security regulations. We will of course say in our “pitch” that the product could be adapted to hold similar tablet devices, however for the sake of having to build a prototype, we have decided just to base it on the iPad device.

Therefore the general purpose of this post is to obtain your opinions to this idea and to ask if we made the product available, would you ever consider buying one? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. With regards to safety, any other potential issues you could see arising would also be appreciated.

Many thanks for taking the time to give any feedback, and of course, none of your personal details will be used. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank Rob from PPRuNe Admin for allowing this thread to be posted.

Liam

500N
28th Oct 2012, 05:46