PDA

View Full Version : B777 Data Link


Haroon
18th Oct 2012, 21:21
Hi

FCOM - Communications:

" If all boxes (VHF, SATCOM, HF) are deselected, ACARS loses the capability to send downlink messages, but can receive and display uplink messages."

:confused: how? unless it means that we have no controls to block the channel required for uplink messages.

thanks

spannersatcx
19th Oct 2012, 07:52
by deselecting or switching off you have turned off your capability to send, not the systems ability to receive.

Haroon
19th Oct 2012, 10:51
thanks :ok:

nitpicker330
20th Oct 2012, 12:33
Mmmmmm

Don't know about that?

The times I've de-selected them all the EICAS Message "Datalink lost" comes up.


Try it.

Haroon
20th Oct 2012, 12:41
in ref to downlink perhaps

nitpicker330
21st Oct 2012, 12:52
1/ request some weather

Then 2/ immediately deselect all COMMS off to get the Datalink Lost MSG.

I'll bet you that the weather never comes back until you select one valid and available path. :ok:

Haroon
21st Oct 2012, 12:59
thats interesting ;)

if its true then it will negate the FCOM. anyway worth trying.

nitpicker330
21st Oct 2012, 13:02
I downloaded the smart cockpit guide for 777 Data link system

http://www.smartcockpit.com/download.php?path=docs/&file=B777-Communications.pdf

Check page 81 and 86.


I would think that after you deselect all means of COMM the system would display
1/ Datalink lost
2/ No ACARS Connection.

meaning you get nothing to or from the Aircraft.

Haroon
21st Oct 2012, 13:11
thanks

the link you've provided is the FCOM

see page 74 of it, where it says:

" If all boxes are deselected, ACARS loses the capability to send downlink messages, but can receive and display uplink messages."

regards

nitpicker330
21st Oct 2012, 13:44
Ok.
The answer is to check the Manager messages.