PDA

View Full Version : CAA - be careful!

Gin Slinger
10th Apr 2002, 22:44
Okay, here’s the sober edit.

As you can tell if you know yer ICAO airport designator codes, I am an Oxfordshire resident, so naturally want to sit my ATPL exams in Oxford, thereby avoiding extra travel and subsidence expenses.

To this end, I sent in my application form to the CAA in early February. A couple of days later I received a receipt for the sum of £718, taken from my credit card. I thought fair enough, an outrageous yet unavoidable fee nonetheless, and naturally assumed in lieu of anything to the contrary, the application was accepted as submitted.

2 months later, still hadn’t received any other documentation, other than the receipt so sent an email asking where I should go and at what time, etc.

Got a reply back a day or two later basically implying they’d lost my booking and now my venue of choice was fully booked. Offered Gatwick. Not good, because brief investigation shown only accommodation available £40 per night Travel Lodge, meaning the cost of living in the vicinity of Gatwick for a week would be approximately £250 – enough dosh to take Ms. Gin Slinger away for sex’n’alcohol weekender in Brussels, but that’s maybe something more of a Jet Blast topic.

Proceeded to phone CAA up to ‘discuss’ the situation, but response was most unhelpful. A sort of 'not the least bit interested and why are you wasting my time by calling' tone to the conversation. Not even a hint of an apology for the extra expense entailed by what is basically shoddy administration on their part. When I suggested they waive part of their charge to the value of the extra costs incurred because of their incompetence, well, you can guess the answer…

Other gripes: