PDA

View Full Version : Help, PRD's

Con_G
12th Oct 2012, 08:40
Hello all,
First post so be nice.
Having just passed my PPL theory test, I am studying up on my KDR issues. One of them is PRD's, or more specifically, restricted areas. My Dyson Holland GFPT text book says that flight through a restricted area is not permissible when active, which until now is what I thought. However my Bob Tait text book says that restricted areas may be flown through with a clearance.
Can someone shed some light on this subject please.

Con

fujii
12th Oct 2012, 09:36
AIP ENR 1.4 - 11

mcgrath50
12th Oct 2012, 09:43
The difference is one of legality and practicality (and also location and reason for the restriction).

Legally you are allowed to fly through restricted areas. Grab an ERSA (or look it up online) and have a look at the classifications of them in the PRD section, it gives you a good breakdown of the likelihood of you getting a clearance.

So the answer to the question that is fairly common in CASA exams is that you can with a clearance. This is what Bob Tait is telling you.

In the real world it depends on the location, basically what it is being used for and your operational need. I've never seen people get cleared through the Puckapunyal restricted area but then it's small, easy to avoid and they conduct live firing through it. I plan around it for sake of ease. East Sale on the other hand you usually can plan through. One must remember that clearances can be denied to anyone, except in an emergency. That means if you are planning on flying through a restricted area, you should have a plan B if you get knocked back.

What DH is getting at I'd imagine is that when it's active it is not permissible without a clearance.

Nautilus Blue
12th Oct 2012, 10:35
Deleted - wrong :uhoh:

wishiwasupthere
12th Oct 2012, 10:55
Prohibited areas are never allowed to be flown through, but I was always taught there aren't any in Australia.

There's 1. Pine Gap.

fujii