PDA

View Full Version : Almaty


mountaintop
27th Aug 2012, 03:16
Question I have heard Almaty is now Qnh, is this correct. Could someone who has operated there recently please respond.
I see on the Jeppesen plates it says Qfe, but it says Qnh available on request, does this mean that ATC will assign altitudes in Qnh if requested?

GAZER
27th Aug 2012, 14:28
QNH on request is available. For QNH approach ATC gets 1600 m instead of 5190 ft and 1300 m instead of 4190 ft because KZ has got metric system. You donít found that metric value in the Jeppesen plates.

GAZER
27th Aug 2012, 15:45
QNH on request is available. For QNH approach ATC gets 1600 m instead of 5190 ft and 1300 m instead of 4190 ft because KZ has got metric system. You donít found that metric value in the Jeppesen plates.

390cruise
27th Aug 2012, 16:40
My visit this week was on QNH but metric altitudes. Very easy with an Airbus but other types might care to have metric conversion to hand.If all else fails 1metre 3.28 feet.

Best of luck.

nitpicker330
28th Aug 2012, 08:15
In China you cannot rely on just setting the cleared level in Metres on the FCU/MCP

You should refer to the approved China Feet/ Metres conversion Table and then set the corresponding FL/ALT in Feet on the FCU/MCP.

Then on approach use the conversion table on the ILS charts and do the same thing. :ok:

Miserlou
28th Aug 2012, 13:25
I passed through Almaty earlier this month and was prepared for Qfe but Qnh was given as standard. But as stated before, in metres.

390cruise
29th Aug 2012, 12:48
Nitpicker
Yes indeed after Almaty we crossed China and used the approved Chinese conversion tables in the Aerad Sup.
I guess these are also on Jep charts.
390

safelife
29th Aug 2012, 14:27
You'll need those conversion tables if you fly on QNH to QFE (heights) clearances.
Once the clearances are given in altitudes, you can use the metric option of your aircraft.

nitpicker330
30th Aug 2012, 13:21
The way we are trained to do it is:-

On all Chinese Approach charts there is a QNH Feet to Metres correction table.
For example ZBAA ILS 01 chart 11-1
So when Mr ATC say "descent to 1500m" you check the table and set 4,930' ( or as close as you can, in this case 4,900' ) on your FCU/MCP.

You cannot simply set 1500m directly on it. :ok:

I don't know why you can't just can't turn the knob until you see 1500m on the PFD.....maybe it's just our silly Flight Ops people?