PDA

View Full Version : ATT Aerodynamic Buffs: Ideal boundary layer characteristics at the stall?

LongLats
13th Aug 2012, 08:03
So I'm studying for ATPL systems, and have split answers in a question. Any advice on the correct answer and/or the "CASA correct" answer? Here's the question:

In order to delay flow separation on an aerofoil at the stall, the characteristics of the boundary layer should ideally be:

a. laminar due to reduced surface friction
b. turbulent due to the higher velocities at the wing surface

The Green Goblin
13th Aug 2012, 11:47
Calling on Plankbender :)

triathlon
13th Aug 2012, 20:11
I second turbulent

alphacentauri
13th Aug 2012, 22:21
I third turbulent......think vortex generators, they break up the airflow (thus adding turbulence) and delay flow separation from the wing.

triathlon
13th Aug 2012, 23:04
Yep. The good old vortex generator applies the concept of energising the laminar layer with " turbulent " air for one of a better word.
But if in doubt go C

scavenger
14th Aug 2012, 00:05
Aerodynamics for Naval Aviators, p59:

In order to prevent separation of a boundary layer in the presence of an adverse pressure gradient, the boundary layer must have the highest possible kinetic energy. If a choice is available, the turbulent boundary layer would be preferrable to the laminar boundary layer because the turbulent velocity profile shows higher local velocities next to the surface.

Great book :ok:

LongLats
14th Aug 2012, 01:09
Cheers everyone, turbulent it is.

aussie027
14th Aug 2012, 05:45
LongLats, you have your answer.

Scavenger is right , Aerodynamics for Naval Aviators is still after 50 odd yrs one of THE best refs on Aerodynamics.:ok::ok:

MakeItHappenCaptain
14th Aug 2012, 05:58
Yup, never knew how to direct a sonic boom until I read that one...:ok:

Andy_RR
14th Aug 2012, 17:20
Of course, what's desirable is very Reynolds Number-dependent.

Wally Mk2
14th Aug 2012, 23:04