PDA

View Full Version : Sydney's Gale...

Best Rate
5th Jun 2012, 14:54
Wasn't the Sydney circuit a fun place to be from around 1530 Tue arvo??

One could be suckered into thinking no real requirements for a lot of extra gas to be carried in.

Glad we had a bit of spare motion lotion as it turned out...

Wondering what other guys use as rules of thumb with regard to such strong winds blowing in / possibility of MOD + w/shear...??

Our machine physically weather-cocked on the exposed bay after wheels chocked!

Best regards and here's to wind-gales abating!

BR. :ok:

Sonny Hammond
5th Jun 2012, 17:49
Similar to 'freaky friday' back in 97 or 98. I saw 65kts on a metar for Sydney that day.
SAAB's and Dash's all over the place.

harrythepigeon
5th Jun 2012, 18:16
I was listening to the ATC on my iphone around that time, heard a Virgin Embraer report severe turbulence at 5800. Not being an airline pilot myself, what is the actual definition of severe turbulence and what is it like to fly through these conditions in that type of aircraft or similar??

ejectx3
5th Jun 2012, 21:42
Certainly earnt our pay cheque yeaterday! Whoa nelly!

falconx
5th Jun 2012, 22:48
she was bloody rough, 3 missed approaches in le falcon and a very upset cabin crew

Capt_SNAFU
5th Jun 2012, 23:37
Severe turbulence:

-Turbulence that causes large, abrupt changes in altitude and/or attitude.
-It usually causes large variations in indicated airspeed.
-Aircraft may be momentarily out of control.
-Occupants are forced violently against seat belts or shoulder straps.
-Unsecured objects are tossed about. Food Service and walking are impossible.

Been in it once or twice and that was certainly enough. Really wakes you up.

ejectx3
5th Jun 2012, 23:50
Only once for me, flying mel-cbr descending east of the hills towards WLE with strong westerlies.

Quite the rollercoaster ride.

Trojan1981
6th Jun 2012, 00:02