PDA

View Full Version : Demographics....what's going to happen to FUN?!

kevmusic
1st Jun 2012, 12:52
By 'fun', I mean the sorts of things I and quite a few others enjoy doing. Quite a few others, that is, of a certain age, it seems. Let's take going to the pub, if you can find one. I know a great one - full of atmosphere, curios, real ale, motor cycle clubs and Pilgrim's Way walkers. The punters are all in their 50s.

I go fell walking in the Lakes. There, you'll find a sprinkling of youthful groups in their 30s-40s, but for the most part they're all greybeards, of either sex.

Or take our own passion, flying and gliding. Everybody's ancient! Again, a few more youthful types, but they're a minority. I'm a jazz musician on a provincial scene, nothing great. Most of the bands I work with have me, at 58, as the baby of the band, by some margin! The other day a posse of motor cyclists pulled up at the lights in my town. Thirty years ago they'd have been a threatening, 'dark side' presence. When I looked closer they were all in their 50s and 60s!

I asked my 25 year-old daughter about this and she said she thought that her generation - brought up on X-boxes, Mario Kart, Tomb Raider and whatnot - were showing signs of turning their backs on virtual fun and were seeking out 'real' things to do. I hope to the dear Lord she's right! :(

SpringHeeledJack
1st Jun 2012, 13:20
There's a whole generation who have been brought up on virtual pursuits, be it TV, computer or smartphone, preferring to lose themselves in these enticing worlds. Some will rebel and look to see the world around then, others won't and therein lies many a problem for the future. I wonder if you were hooked up to a brainwave scanner and some 'virtual' warrior who would be displaying more pleasure and satisfaction ? I'd be happy to have your pastimes than the alternatives online :ok:

SHJ

Tourist
1st Jun 2012, 13:32
I'll tell you what happened to fun.

Your generation had it all and ruined it all