PDA

View Full Version : Jobs or not

racedo
16th May 2012, 18:12
Mate who is in finance in the process of recruiting an Accountant for a 9-12 month maternity cover.

He went to 4 national agencies with job based in South West London on decent money.

What has shocked him though is that he received 15 CVs, most he figured could do the job but he will only interview 4 ......

Only 2 of the 15 were Brits which he said was a shock to him as given the crap about unemployment he expected a higher proportion.

Puzzled whether this is the picture others have seen.

rgbrock1
16th May 2012, 18:36
Although not in accounting I work in the IT field.

Recently my company here in the U.S. advertised for a Desktop Support Technician. I was told the company received 173 Resumes for this position. 10 of them were from Americans.

Sir George Cayley
16th May 2012, 19:02
Despite the politically correct minefield this thread could stray into, race could be at the bottom of this.

My experience of contact with people in a variety of jobs is similar. Domestic staff are often East European - nothing appears to be too much for them and their happy polite disposition is a tonic.

Look how many medical staff come from overseas. A recent spell in hospital saw me attended to by a Rumanian House Doctor, a Filipino Staff Nurse and the rest of the nurses from a variety of African states. The only "English" staff member was a viperous bitch.:sad:

It may be a sweeping statement but are British non workers in the Benefit trap?

Lastly, the MV Empire Windrush brought Afro-Caribbean immigrant workers to the UK in the late 40's "to do the jobs UK workers won't do". Is there a parallel here?

In my own company we have sections struggling to recruit. Plenty of interest but no appropriate qualifications or experience.

I think growth needs two things at least, some level of inflation and increasing employment. If the supply of labour comes from abroad so be it.

SGC (now where's my tinfoil hat?)

rgbrock1