PDA

View Full Version : G-mail, Hotmail Yahoo traceability.

Hobo
1st Apr 2012, 07:23
I've often wondered, if I am sending emails from one of these free providers, can the recipient find out where I am and which computer I'm using, or is it completely untraceable?

TWT
1st Apr 2012, 07:29
You are not invisible.Your IP address is recorded within the email header.If you are using your ISP connection for illegal purposes and the cops get interested,your IP address will lead them to your front door after they identify the ISP and obtain your private details from such.Other than law enforcement,the closest anyone will get is the name of your ISP and your general location.

Caveat:I'm not an IT expert,those here who are will no doubt fill in any missing pieces.

mixture
1st Apr 2012, 08:53
Hobo,

TWT was almost there in his description.

Some of the services will withhold your IP address from the header, and as such, the recipient may not necessarily be able to see your IP address in the email headers.

However, should you send something that subsequently causes lawyers (civil) or law enforcement (criminal) to be involved, then all they need to do is to serve the email provider with notice to release relevant information, which they can then follow up with your ISP, which they can then use to come knocking at your door.

Some may seek to argue that intermediary services such as "TOR" are untraceable. However the fact of the matter is that you have to have the service setup in a particular manner, and be particularly disciplined in your usage of it to give yourself a reasonable chance of being more difficult to find. For example, the well publicised case of "Sabu" from hacking group "Anonymous" was eventually tracked down by the authorities despite being a heavy user of "TOR".

hellsbrink
1st Apr 2012, 11:19
Yeah, but didn't "Sabu" let his guard down and use a computer in an internet cafe that wasn't on Tor?

Saab Dastard
1st Apr 2012, 12:36