PDA

View Full Version : Instructing part time as a shift worker

flyboy1818
19th Feb 2012, 17:55
Hi all,

I am a recently qualified instructor, I had the misfortune of obtaining my rating just as Cabair went under and I'm based in the South East so I have had little joy in finding any form of employment as a Flight Instructor over the winter season.

I have however been fortunate enough to keep a well paid shift job throughout all of my flight training. I have done an honest review of my finances and I have concluded that I would be unable to survive on a full time FI wage.

In short I am looking for part time work and I was wondering if any other part time FI's manage to Flight Instruct whilst working shifts (I have 16 rotating days off per month). I have the overiding impression that Flight Schools only want part time instructors who can work fixed days on the weekend.

RTN11
19th Feb 2012, 20:55
You may well struggle, as most schools/clubs like people who can pick up the slack on the weekends with trial lessons, especially if you're only working part time.

What you would need to do is find students who want to learn to fly on the days you are available. Otherwise, if they are unable to consistantly put the same students with you, you will not have any work.

It's difficult for anyone to get by on a full time instructor wage, but it's a sacrafice many of us make to do the thing we love. Unfortunately, I don't see instructor wages going up anytime soon, with flying school margins already pretty tight.

Charlie Foxtrot India
20th Feb 2012, 01:55
When I started instructing part time I was also doing full time shift work as a supermarket manager, milking my landlord's cows four times a week in lieu of rent and doing the occasional shift as a hire car chick. So it can be done but don't expect to have any kind of social or home life. :sad: good luck

Talkdownman
20th Feb 2012, 06:59